Collection by Dora Vanette

Books You Need to Read if You Love Design

Like
Comment
Share

Delving into everything from Alexander Girard to wabi-sabi, we take a look at 26 authoritative works on modern architecture, design, and technology.

Super Normal: Sensations of the Ordinary by Naoto Fukasawa and Jasper Morrison (Lars Müller Publishers, 2007).
Towards a New Architecture by Le Corbusier (Martino Fine Books, 2014).
Alexander Girard by Todd Oldham & Kiera Coffee (Ammo Books, 2011).
By Design: Why There Are No Locks on the Bathroom Doors in the Hotel Louis XIV and Other Object Lessons by Ralph Caplan...
California Design, 1930-1965: “Living in a Modern Way” edited by Wendy Kaplan (MIT Press, 2011).
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Jane Jacobs (Vintage Books, 1992).
Eames: Beautiful Details by Eames Demetrios (Ammo Books, 2012).
The First Apartment Book: Cool Design for Small Spaces by Kyle Schuneman and Heather Summerville (Potter Style, 2012).
The Green Roof Manual by Edmund C. Snodgrass and Linda McIntyre (Timber Press, 2010).
How to See: A Guide to Reading Our Manmade Environment by George Nelson (Little, Brown and Company, 1979).
Information Graphics by Sandra Rendgen and Julius Wiedemann (Taschen, 2012).
Julius Shulman Los Angeles: The Birth of a Modern Metropolis by Sam Lubell and Douglas Woods (Rizzoli, 2011).
Kindergarten Chats and Other Writings by Louis H. Sullivan (Dover Publications, 2012).
Learning from Las Vegas by Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown, and Steven Izenour (MIT Press, 1977).
Maharam Agenda by Michael Maharam (Lars Müller Publishers, 2011).
Nature Framed: At Home in the Landscape by Eva Hagberg (Monacelli Press, 2011).
Organic Design in Home Furnishings by Eliot F. Noyes (Museum of Modern Art, 1941).
Prefab Architecture: A Guide to Modular Design and Construction by Ryan E. Smith (Wiley, 2010).
The Architect Says: Quotes, Quips, and Words of Wisdom by Laura S. Dushkes (Princeton Architectural Press, 2012).
Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec: Works by Anniina Koivu (Phaidon Press, 2012).
Everybody loves feedback. Be the first to add a comment.
The author will be notified whenever new comments are added.

Get a Daily Dose of Design

Sign up for the Dwell Daily Newsletter and never miss our new features, photos, home tours, stories, and more.