Collection by Dora Vanette

Books You Need to Read if You Love Design

Like
Comment
Share

Delving into everything from Alexander Girard to wabi-sabi, we take a look at 26 authoritative works on modern architecture, design, and technology.

Super Normal: Sensations of the Ordinary by Naoto Fukasawa and Jasper Morrison (Lars Müller Publishers, 2007). A...
Towards a New Architecture by Le Corbusier (Martino Fine Books, 2014). The famous collection of essays proclaims that...
Alexander Girard by Todd Oldham & Kiera Coffee (Ammo Books, 2011). The definitive book on Girard looks at his...
By Design: Why There Are No Locks on the Bathroom Doors in the Hotel Louis XIV and Other Object Lessons by Ralph Caplan...
California Design, 1930-1965: “Living in a Modern Way” edited by Wendy Kaplan (MIT Press, 2011). Kaplan’s book, which...
The Death and Life of Great American Cities by Jane Jacobs (Vintage Books, 1992). The 1961 critique of contemporary...
Eames: Beautiful Details by Eames Demetrios (Ammo Books, 2012). A collector’s item and visual celebration of the life...
The First Apartment Book: Cool Design for Small Spaces by Kyle Schuneman and Heather Summerville (Potter Style,...
The Green Roof Manual by Edmund C. Snodgrass and Linda McIntyre (Timber Press, 2010). The Green Roof Manual...
How to See: A Guide to Reading Our Manmade Environment by George Nelson (Little, Brown and Company, 1979). Although...
Information Graphics by Sandra Rendgen and Julius Wiedemann (Taschen, 2012). Rendgen and Wiedemann’s book explores how...
Julius Shulman Los Angeles: The Birth of a Modern Metropolis by Sam Lubell and Douglas Woods (Rizzoli, 2011).
Kindergarten Chats and Other Writings by Louis H. Sullivan (Dover Publications, 2012).
Learning from Las Vegas by Robert Venturi, Denise Scott Brown, and Steven Izenour (MIT Press, 1977). Controversial...
Maharam Agenda by Michael Maharam (Lars Müller Publishers, 2011). If a look into the evolution of a leading textile...
Nature Framed: At Home in the Landscape by Eva Hagberg (Monacelli Press, 2011). A selection of projects that blur the...
Organic Design in Home Furnishings by Eliot F. Noyes (Museum of Modern Art, 1941).
Prefab Architecture: A Guide to Modular Design and Construction by Ryan E. Smith (Wiley, 2010). A variety of case...
The Architect Says: Quotes, Quips, and Words of Wisdom by Laura S. Dushkes (Princeton Architectural Press, 2012). This...
Ronan & Erwan Bouroullec: Works by Anniina Koivu (Phaidon Press, 2012).
Everybody loves feedback. Be the first to add a comment.
The author will be notified whenever new comments are added.