Collection by Miyoko Ohtake

AIA Institute Honor Awards


Each January, the American Institute of Architects awards its annual Honor Awards to the top designs in architecture, interior architecture, and regional and urban design. Here we feature the 2011 winners, which include some Dwell favorites: Julie Snow, Steven Holl, Bernard Tschumi, Thomas Phifer.

The John E. Jaqua Academic Center for Student Athletes in Eugene, Oregon. Designed by ZGF Architects LLP.
The Conga Room in Los Angeles, California. Designed by Belzberg Architects.
The Moving Picture Company in Santa Monica, California. Designed by Patrick Tighe Architecture.
The FIDM San Diego Campus in San Diego, California. Designed by Clive Wilkinson Architects.
Alchemist in Miami Beach, Florida. Designed by Rene Gonzalez Architect.
The Power House Restoration/Renovation in St. Louis, Missouri. Designed by Cannon Design.
The Registrar Recorder County Clerk Elections Operations Center in Santa Fe Springs, California.
Armstrong Oil and Gas in Denver, Colorado. Designed by Lake|Flato Architects.
Photograph © Mitch Tobias (415) 647-0242...
The Academy of Music in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. Designed by KlingStubbins.
The Vancouver Convention Centre West in Vancouver, British Columbia. Designed by LMN Architects, with DA/MCM.
The AT&T Performing Arts Center Dee and Charles Wyly Theatre in Dallas, Texas.
University of Michigan Art...
The North Carolina Museum of Art in Raleigh, North Carolina. Designed by Thomas Phifer and Partners.
The U.S. Land Port of Entry in Warroad, Minnesota. Designed by Julie Snow Architects, Inc.
Weiss Manfredi / Barnard...
Horizontal Skyscraper/Vanke Center in Shenzhen, China. Designed by Steven Holl Architects.
Architectural photographs of The Boilerhouse Restaurant at Ford Point, Richmond, California.
New Acropolis Museum Location: Athens, Greece Architect: Bernard Tschumi...
One Jackson Square in New York City. Designed by Kohn Pedersen Fox Associates, PC. Winner of the 2011 Institute Honor...
Everybody loves feedback. Be the first to add a comment.
The author will be notified whenever new comments are added.

Get a Daily Dose of Design

Sign up for the Dwell Daily Newsletter and never miss our new features, photos, home tours, stories, and more.