written by:
May 27, 2011

This week we've been busily (and excitedly!) prepping for Dwell on Design, which is just under one month away. Among the many events slated are our ever-popular tours of modern homes in Los Angeles, a keynote talk by Cradle to Cradle author William McDonough, and discussions with many more Dwell favorites on topics as far reaching as crafting beer to creating a kid-friendly abode. This week, we also welcomed a new addition to our magazine, designer Everett Pelayo, who shares his first Friday Find today: the lives of Quinnford and Scout.

"Midnight in Paris" is written and directed by Woody Allen and stars Owen Wilson, Marion Cotillard, and Rachel McAdams.
"Midnight in Paris" is written and directed by Woody Allen and stars Owen Wilson, Marion Cotillard, and Rachel McAdams.
2 / 4
Olafur Eliasson's "Your Rainbow Panorama."
Olafur Eliasson's "Your Rainbow Panorama."
3 / 4
A design by Los Angeles-based Sari Closet.
A design by Los Angeles-based Sari Closet.
4 / 4
ff 52711 everett

Everett: I am always in awe of anyone who is able to photograph their lives beyond the annual birthday or holiday. Quinnford and Scout, a couple currently living in Manchester, U.K., take photo documentation to the next level by beautifully photographing their relationship in monthly intervals. The visceral series documents all aspects of a relationship and a few photographs are NSFW. Check out their website and Flickr.

Aaron: Midnight in Paris

"Midnight in Paris" is written and directed by Woody Allen and stars Owen Wilson, Marion Cotillard, and Rachel McAdams.
"Midnight in Paris" is written and directed by Woody Allen and stars Owen Wilson, Marion Cotillard, and Rachel McAdams.
I saw the new Woody Allen film Midnight in Paris last night and though I didn't much care for the tired jokes, surging nostalgia, and guileless romanticism, there was a certain pleasure in seeing Allen flesh out (one-dimensionally, I should add) the great artists of the 20s. Hemingway, Fitzgerald, Buñuel, Dali, Man Ray and others populate this jazz age fable, and as a postcard from the birth of modernism the fluffy film gives us all the stars in the firmament. A pity that Allen is such an aesthetic conservative, though. Next he'll be telling us how great Mozart is.

Jaime: Your Rainbow Panorama

Olafur Eliasson's "Your Rainbow Panorama."
Olafur Eliasson's "Your Rainbow Panorama."
Construction on Danish-Icelandic artist Olafur Eliasson's new installation Your Rainbow Panorama was recently completed, and is set to open to the public on Saturday, May 28. Perched on top of the ARoS Museum of Art in Aarhus, Denmark, the circular walkway is clad in a full rainbow spectrum of glass, and looks freaking amazing. Also amazing: the museum's galleries take visitors through Dante’s Divine Comedy, leading up through the nine circles of Hell and the Mount of Purgatory to this new rooftop installation, which represents Paradise. According to Eliasson, "Your Rainbow Panorama enters into a dialogue with the existing architecture and reinforces what is assured beforehand, that is to say the view of the city. I have created a space which virtually erases the boundaries between inside and outside — where people become a little uncertain as to whether they have stepped into a work or into part of the museum. This uncertainty is important to me, as it encourages people to think and sense beyond the limits within which they are accustomed to moving."

Diana: The Alphabet by Alessandro Novelli

The Alphabet from n9ve on Vimeo.

A lovely animation of the alphabet where each character is the first letter of a font name. The fluid transitions between each letter become a ballet-like and it's set to "Si tu n'étais pas là" by French musician Fréhel. I only wish that each of the letters lingered on the screen longer!

Miyoko: Sari Closet

A design by Los Angeles-based Sari Closet.
A design by Los Angeles-based Sari Closet.
If you've ever wanted to wear a sari, here's your chance. My cousin and his colleagues, who are about to be UCLA Anderson School of Management grads, just launched a new business called Sari Closet. For $79 you can rent one of more than 100 beautiful saris from India. Shipping is free, and you send it back in the box it arrived in. Even if you don't want to rent one, the embroidery on the saris is stunning and worth a peek through the galleries.

Join the Discussion

Loading comments...

Latest Articles

Modern prefab summer home in Madeline Island, Wisconsin
Prefab construction simplified the building process of this northern Wisconsin summer home, where all materials required ferrying across Lake Superior.
May 30, 2016
This unrealized plan reimagined the city’s downtown and included a large green area next to the capitol building and paths to bring people to the Delaware River
In her new book, Wild by Design, Margie Ruddick shows us how to get closer to nature.
May 30, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent joa herrenknecht berlin cstudio joa herrenknecht berlin loftsw livingr02 studiojoaherrenknecht 2015
Size doesn't intimidate this ambitious designer.
May 30, 2016
modern fjallbacka sweden pine boxes vacation facade
Architect Gert Wingårdh creates a passionately outfitted vacation home for two midcentury furniture dealers on the western coast of Sweden.
May 29, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent driaan claassen cape town south africa ccourtesy of driaan claasen dualpage82
Driaan Claassen combines a variety of materials and a love of history to create distinct objects.
May 29, 2016
energy star dirk wynants extremis poperinge beligium sustainable farmhouse facade
The owner of an outdoor furniture company updates a 19th-century farmhouse.
May 29, 2016
Modern small sustainable weekend home with flat roof
Two linked 1,000-square-foot pavilions are greater than a sum of their parts.
May 28, 2016
inside out los angeles home barbara bestor hollywood outdoor facade charcoal paint pool
Architect Barbara Bestor transforms a Hollywood Hills home by opening up its interior to the site’s dramatic backyard topography.
May 28, 2016
right of laneway vancouver garden sliding glass western window systems door outdoor
A Vancouver garden blossoms alongside fresh development.
May 28, 2016
20160229 dgd highhouse 1777 1024x683
A toddler, a pup, and their parents fit onto a 16.5-foot-wide plot in an inner suburb of Melbourne.
May 27, 2016
rec
Every week, we highlight one amazing Dwell home that went viral on Pinterest. Follow Dwell's Pinterest account for more daily design inspiration.
May 27, 2016
capitol gains seattle multifamily living dining room wassily chair chaise le corbusier cb2
Two Seattle architects design and build a dynamic multifamily structure on a formerly vacant lot.
May 27, 2016
modern beach house thatch roof living dining bar cart
By eliminating walls and incorporating a series of interior gardens, architect José Roberto Paredes creates an eclectic and inspired El Salvador beach house.
May 27, 2016
7
A two-story Eichler in San Francisco gets a freshening up.
May 27, 2016
Bathyard renovation in Madrid, Spain
In Madrid, Spain, Husos Architects renovate a turn-of-the-20th-century apartment for a client with dual passions: her houseplants and a nice, long bath.
May 26, 2016
Exterior of Huneeus/Sugar Bowl Home.
San Francisco–based designer Maca Huneeus created her family’s weekend retreat near Lake Tahoe with a relaxed, sophisticated sensibility.
May 26, 2016
starting over sturgeon bay facade tongue and groove new growth cypress  0
After a devastating fire, architect David Salmela designs a house to replace a beloved lakeside retreat in Wisconsin.
May 26, 2016
Modern home with brick base and cedar rain screen on top level
An architect reimagines an outdated brick garage by designing a graceful new family home atop its foundation.
May 26, 2016
sardenya lr 7
A renovation brings light and order to a Spanish flat, maintaining its standout ceilings.
May 25, 2016
pow 5 25 1
Each week, we tap into Dwell's Instagram community to bring you the most captivating design and architecture shots of the week.
May 25, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent thom fougere winnipeg canada cthom fougere studio thom fougere saddle chair 2
Designer Thom Fougere plays with scale and typology to create playful furniture.
May 25, 2016
prs my16 0067 v001 1
In the worlds of architecture and design, we’re always looking for the best ways of supporting sustainable building practices. This awareness doesn’t have to stop at our driveways but rather, it can extend to the cars we choose to take us to the places we go each day. With Toyota’s 2016 Prius, the daily task of getting from point A to point B can now be experienced with a new level of efficiency, safety, and style.
May 25, 2016
mountfordarchitects western australia
On a narrow site in Western Australia, Mountford Architects makes the most of a tight spot—with an eye to the future.
May 25, 2016
San Francisco living room with Wassily chairs
Materials and furniture transformed the layout of this San Francisco house, without the need for dramatic structural intervention.
May 24, 2016
shiver me timbers tallow wood kitchen
A pair of married architects put their exacting taste to work on their own family escape in the Australian bush.
May 24, 2016
in the balance small space massachusetts cantilevered cabin glass facade
When nature laid down a boulder of a design challenge in the Massachusetts mountains, an architect’s solution elevated the project to new heights.
May 24, 2016
Wooden Walkways
A home in Ontario, Canada, demonstrates how factory-built housing can be as site sensitive as traditional construction.
May 24, 2016
15 icff 5
From Corian furniture to immersive installations, here are some of our favorite designs we saw at the 2016 shows.
May 24, 2016
gpphoto44
A home and community celebrate natural remove in unison.
May 24, 2016
With our annual issue devoted to the outdoors on newsstands, we did a lap of Instagram for some extra inspiration.
May 23, 2016