written by:
April 10, 2009

This week on Dwell.com we had some new modular architecture, a Q&A with Sebastian Wrong of Established & Sons, and a slideshow of some of the best kitchens in our features archive. We also launched Phase Two of our spring design competition, Innovate It!. Elsewhere on the internet, here are some of the things the Dwell team was eyeing.

is this your luggage

Sam: Patrick Jouin

You have to click through some hoops and whatnot to get to this project (look out for a commentary piece on architect's websites coming in our June issue), but its worth the effort to get to the images of the YTL Residence (or you can go here for the abbreviated short-cut version). This private residence for a prominent Malaysian family is possibly one of the most incredible houses I've ever seen—it's almost hard to believe its real. There's something vaguely sickening about the idea of a 32,000 square foot home (and believe me I would be happy in 1/32nd of that), and the overall look of the exterior isn't very coherent, but Patrick Jouin's has composed this frankenstein out of beautiful interior vignettes and lush design details—such as the Verner Panton inspired ceiling fixtures, the carrara marble bar that looks like a big chunk of freshly chipped parmesan cheese, and beautifully detailed floating spiral stairs—that it's hard not to be wooed.  

Aaron: The Classical Beat

I met Washington Post classical music critic Anne Midgette a few weeks ago while in the Post's offices and she told me about the new blog she'd be starting up for the Post called The Classical Beat. Well, it's here and it's rather good. With an emphasis on the DC area, but still taking a wider view of the American classical scene, The Classical Beat mixes quick posts, link round-ups and the columns Midgette files for the paper. As ever, her writing is sharp and her powers of description are clear. I particularly liked her recent review of a production of Benjamin Britten's canonical opera Peter Grimes.

Sarah: In the Kitchen with Andi Kovel

As an avid cook and food lover, I really enjoy reading DesignSponge's approach to checking out kitchens and testing our recipes from favorite designers. This week they ran a recipe from Andi Kovel of Esque. I'm a big fan of what she can do with glass (Andi was Dwell's expert for our review of glassware in our May 2008 issue), so it was fun to see how her creativity manifests in the kitchen.

Jordan and Miyoko (They picked the same one! Must be good.): Is This Your Luggage

Ever wonder where lost luggage ends up? It has to go somewhere; If that somewhere isn't on vacation with you, it will most likely be sold at auction with the proceeds going to charity. The curator of this site purchases these missing pieces to "satisfy a weird voyeuristic passion", then photographs the case with all the contents neatly laid out. A bit horrifying to think of your dirty laundry aired on the internet for all to see, but that sure didn't stop me from looking; I guess I have my own weird voyeuristic passion to contend with. One can only wonder about the thwarted travels of the owner of the little black rollie suitcase containing windbreaker, cargo pants, bikini, and naughty nurse mini-dress. (via Design Observer)

Kathryn: Intelligence in Lifestyle

Intelligence in Lifestyle, a magazine supplement to the Italian financial newspaper Il Sole 24 Ore. The page design is an interesting blend of seriously old-skool high-end fashion with good clean grid systems and that sort of flashy attention grabbing typography that only a newspaper designer would try to get away with. A definite counter to my training from April Greiman. And yet I find myself strangely attracted to it again and again.... but please, please, please, don't make us drop-cap! {shiver}

 

Image courtesy Is This Your Luggage

Join the Discussion

Loading comments...

Latest Articles

burton residence concrete floors metal panel sliding outside
An easy construction process reduces any drama for a couple in California.
May 31, 2016
Modern outdoor deck with wooden ceiling and metal fence
Working with a limited footprint, a daunting slope, and killer views, architect Bruce Bolander went vertical with a secluded canyon house in Malibu.
May 31, 2016
Sustainable home with galvanized steel shed roof and siding
A rural house in Ontario doesn't fuss around and fits right in the surrounding landscape.
May 31, 2016
Modern prefab summer home in Madeline Island, Wisconsin
Prefab construction simplified the building process of this northern Wisconsin summer home, where all materials required ferrying across Lake Superior.
May 30, 2016
This unrealized plan reimagined the city’s downtown and included a large green area next to the capitol building and paths to bring people to the Delaware River
In her new book, Wild by Design, Margie Ruddick shows us how to get closer to nature.
May 30, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent joa herrenknecht berlin cstudio joa herrenknecht berlin loftsw livingr02 studiojoaherrenknecht 2015
Size doesn't intimidate this ambitious designer.
May 30, 2016
modern fjallbacka sweden pine boxes vacation facade
Architect Gert Wingårdh creates a passionately outfitted vacation home for two midcentury furniture dealers on the western coast of Sweden.
May 29, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent driaan claassen cape town south africa ccourtesy of driaan claasen dualpage82
Driaan Claassen combines a variety of materials and a love of history to create distinct objects.
May 29, 2016
energy star dirk wynants extremis poperinge beligium sustainable farmhouse facade
The owner of an outdoor furniture company updates a 19th-century farmhouse.
May 29, 2016
Modern small sustainable weekend home with flat roof
Two linked 1,000-square-foot pavilions are greater than a sum of their parts.
May 28, 2016
inside out los angeles home barbara bestor hollywood outdoor facade charcoal paint pool
Architect Barbara Bestor transforms a Hollywood Hills home by opening up its interior to the site’s dramatic backyard topography.
May 28, 2016
right of laneway vancouver garden sliding glass western window systems door outdoor
A Vancouver garden blossoms alongside fresh development.
May 28, 2016
20160229 dgd highhouse 1777 1024x683
A toddler, a pup, and their parents fit onto a 16.5-foot-wide plot in an inner suburb of Melbourne.
May 27, 2016
rec
Every week, we highlight one amazing Dwell home that went viral on Pinterest. Follow Dwell's Pinterest account for more daily design inspiration.
May 27, 2016
capitol gains seattle multifamily living dining room wassily chair chaise le corbusier cb2
Two Seattle architects design and build a dynamic multifamily structure on a formerly vacant lot.
May 27, 2016
modern beach house thatch roof living dining bar cart
By eliminating walls and incorporating a series of interior gardens, architect José Roberto Paredes creates an eclectic and inspired El Salvador beach house.
May 27, 2016
7
A two-story Eichler in San Francisco gets a freshening up.
May 27, 2016
Bathyard renovation in Madrid, Spain
In Madrid, Spain, Husos Architects renovate a turn-of-the-20th-century apartment for a client with dual passions: her houseplants and a nice, long bath.
May 26, 2016
Exterior of Huneeus/Sugar Bowl Home.
San Francisco–based designer Maca Huneeus created her family’s weekend retreat near Lake Tahoe with a relaxed, sophisticated sensibility.
May 26, 2016
starting over sturgeon bay facade tongue and groove new growth cypress  0
After a devastating fire, architect David Salmela designs a house to replace a beloved lakeside retreat in Wisconsin.
May 26, 2016
Modern home with brick base and cedar rain screen on top level
An architect reimagines an outdated brick garage by designing a graceful new family home atop its foundation.
May 26, 2016
sardenya lr 7
A renovation brings light and order to a Spanish flat, maintaining its standout ceilings.
May 25, 2016
pow 5 25 1
Each week, we tap into Dwell's Instagram community to bring you the most captivating design and architecture shots of the week.
May 25, 2016
young guns 2016 emerging talent thom fougere winnipeg canada cthom fougere studio thom fougere saddle chair 2
Designer Thom Fougere plays with scale and typology to create playful furniture.
May 25, 2016
prs my16 0067 v001 1
In the worlds of architecture and design, we’re always looking for the best ways of supporting sustainable building practices. This awareness doesn’t have to stop at our driveways but rather, it can extend to the cars we choose to take us to the places we go each day. With Toyota’s 2016 Prius, the daily task of getting from point A to point B can now be experienced with a new level of efficiency, safety, and style.
May 25, 2016
mountfordarchitects western australia
On a narrow site in Western Australia, Mountford Architects makes the most of a tight spot—with an eye to the future.
May 25, 2016
San Francisco living room with Wassily chairs
Materials and furniture transformed the layout of this San Francisco house, without the need for dramatic structural intervention.
May 24, 2016
shiver me timbers tallow wood kitchen
A pair of married architects put their exacting taste to work on their own family escape in the Australian bush.
May 24, 2016
in the balance small space massachusetts cantilevered cabin glass facade
When nature laid down a boulder of a design challenge in the Massachusetts mountains, an architect’s solution elevated the project to new heights.
May 24, 2016
Wooden Walkways
A home in Ontario, Canada, demonstrates how factory-built housing can be as site sensitive as traditional construction.
May 24, 2016